The Trustee

The Trustee looks after your interests as a member of the Railways Pension Scheme.

It is the trustee for four railway industry pension schemes. Two of these schemes - the Railways Pension Scheme (RPS) and the British Transport Police Force Superannuation Fund (BTPFSF) - are open to new members.

The Trustee has overall responsibility for:
    • Administration of scheme benefits, collection of contributions, and payment of pensions;
    • Investment and safe custody of assets;
    • Management of risk, including cyber security;
    • Member communications;
    • Scheme governance, including trustee training; and
    • Oversight of Railpen and management of professional advisers

    ​The Board of 16 Trustee Directors helps maintain high standards of governance for the schemes. Eight Trustee Directors are nominated by employers and eight by members. Roughly a third of the directors retire by rotation every two years, and their term of office is six years.

    The experience and skills of Trustee Directors are the cornerstones of the Board. For example, directors attend Board and Committee meetings, in addition to various workshops, strategy events, and training seminars.

    Learn more about the current members of the Trustee Board »

    The current employer directors are:

    Christine Kernoghan (Chair)
    Nominated by: ​Passenger train operating companies
    Term of office: 20​22

    Mark Engelbretson 
    Nominated by: Network Rail
    Term of office: ​2024

    Adam Golton
    Nominated by: Passenger train operating companies
    Term of office: 2026

    Fatima Hassan
    Nominated by: Network Rail
    Term of office: 2026

    Richard Jones 
    Nominated by: All employers
    Term of office: 2022

    Richard Murray
    Nominated by: Passenger train operating companies
    Term of office: 2024

    John Wilson
    Nominated by: Freight train operating companies and support services 
    Term of office: 2026

    The current employee directors are:

    Mick ​Cash
    Nominated by: National Union of Rail, Maritime and Transport Workers (RMT)
    Term of office: 2028

    Gerry Doherty
    Nominated by: Transport Salaried Staffs' Association (TSSA)
    Term of office: ​2024

    Richard Goldson
    Nominated by: Retired Railway Officers' Society 
    Term of office: 2026

    Dave Gott
    Nominated by: National Union of Rail, Maritime and Transport Workers (RMT) and British Railways Superannuation Fund (BRSF) Management Committee 
    Term of office: 2​024

    Charles Harding
    Nominated by: Confederation of Shipbuilding and Engineering Unions (CSEU)
    Term of office: 2026

    Peter Holden
    Nominated by: British Transport Pensioners' Federation 
    Term of office: 2026

    Howard Kaye
    Nominated by: Associated Society of Locomotive Engineers & Firemen (ASLEF)
    Term of office: 20​28
    Gary Towse

    Nominated by: British Railways Superannuation Fund (BRSF) Management Committee and British Transport Police Federation
    Term of office: 20​22